Guns & Ammo Network


Collapse bottom bar
Subscribe
Handguns

Hi-Point Pistols: Basic But Oh So Reliable!

by Paul Scarlata   |  January 3rd, 2011 169

After putting .45 ACP and .40 S&W Hi-Point pistols through a thorough shooting test, the author says you can call the Hi-Point pistols inexpensive, but don’t ever say they aren’t good shooters!


Here in North Carolina we have an old expression: “It looks like it fell out of the ugly tree–and hit every branch on the way down!” With this pearl of wisdom in mind, I don’t believe that anyone will hazard the opinion that the pistols to be discussed in this article are actually pretty. But then again, they weren’t designed to be lookers.

The idea of a blowback-operated pistol chambered for high-pressure cartridges goes back to the early 20th century. Several designers toyed with the concept, and while most of the resulting products were less than successful, others featured prominently in the history of modern handguns. The first of note was the Spanish 1913-16 Campo-Giro, which was chambered for the powerful 9mm Largo cartridge. It was followed by the Astra 400 and 600 pistols, which fired the same round. Less notable designs included the Beretta 1915-19 and 1923 (9mm Glisenti); Germany’s Dreyse Heeres Pistole and Walther Mod. 6 (9mm Parabellum); and the Danish Schouboe, which fired a unique 11.35mm jacketed wooden bullet!

All of these pistols used very heavy recoil springs to hold the slide forward until chamber pressures had dropped to safe levels and large, heavy frames to absorb recoil energy. Most suffered from severe recoil, difficult operation, and, except for the Astra pistols, mediocre reliability. It should come as no surprise then that all, except for those made by Astra, were commercial failures. Since the 1920s it has been assumed that for reliable operation, a pistol firing a high-pressure cartridge must utilize some form of locked breech.

For the last decade or so Hi-Point Firearms (Dept. ST, 8611-A North Dixie Dr., Dayton, OH 45414; 877-425-4867; www.hi-pointfirearms.com) has been offering blowback-operated pistols and carbines chambered for the .380 ACP, 9mm Parabellum, .40 S&W, and .45 ACP. In an effort to enlighten information-hungry Shooting Times readers, Editor Joel Hutchcroft supplied me with two of Hi-Point’s most popular pistols: the .40 S&W Model JCP and the .45 ACP Model JHP.


SPECIFICATIONS
Hi-Point Model JHP
.45 ACP Semiautomatic Pistol
MAKER: Hi-Point Firearms Co.
MODEL: JHP
OPERATION: Blowback Autoloader
CALIBER: .45 ACP
CAPACITY: 10 rounds
BARREL LENGTH: 4.5 inches
OVERALL LENGTH: 7.72 inches
WEIGHT, EMPTY: 32 ounces
SIGHTS: 3-dot system; fully adjustable rear; blade front
STOCKS: Integral polymer frame
SAFETY: Manual thumb safety; magazine disconnect safety; sear drop safety
FINISH: Black Powder Coat
PRICE: $169

After the parcel delivery service truck had left, I opened the two packages I had received and my first thought was, “Hmmm…well, they certainly are different looking.” In fact, I would say that they were two of the stranger looking pistols I have beheld in quite some time. It was obvious that in the case of the Hi-Point pistol form follows function.

The first thing I noticed was the massive, slab-sided slide with its black, powder coat finish and a rather large ejection port on the right side. These are die cast from an aluminum/zinc alloy with steel inserts reinforcing the entire breech area and other stress points. When I queried Charlie Brown of Hi-Point Firearms about this method of construction, he said: “Blowback firearms are simple and inexpensive to make and will handle a wide spectrum of ammo without problems. In the area of Ohio where we are located, there are many shops that specialize in die casting for the auto industry. We utilize this resource.

“Hi-Point was one of the first American manufacturers to use a polymer frame for firearms. In 1992-93 we offered our 9mm in polymer, then the .380, and lastly the .40 and .45 pistols. It just worked out that way because polymer offers many consumer benefits, such as reduced recoil, ease of maintenance, and a longer service life. Polymer by nature is ‘slicker’ than steel/alloy and is therefore easier to care for, requiring less oil, etc.”


SPECIFICATIONS
Hi-Point Model JCP
.40 S&W Semiautomatic Pistol
MAKER: Hi-Point Firearms Co.
MODEL: JCP
OPERATION: Blowback Autoloader
CALIBER: .40 S&W
CAPACITY: 9 rounds
BARREL LENGTH: 4.5 inches
OVERALL LENGTH: 7.72 inches
WEIGHT, EMPTY: 32 ounces
SIGHTS: 3-dot system; fully adjustable rear; blade front
STOCKS: Integral polymer frame
SAFETY: Manual thumb safety; magazine disconnect safety; sear drop safety
FINISH: Black Powder Coat
PRICE: $169

The Hi-Point polymer frame features an integral trigger guard and accessory rail for mounting an optional laser sight. The barrel is mounted permanently to the frame while the recoil spring is located in a groove beneath the barrel where a downward extension of the slide bears upon it during recoil. Separate grip panels are held in place by screws and tabs on their bottom edges that enter cutouts in the frame.

This design depends primarily upon the slide’s mass to prevent it from moving to the rear until chamber pressure has dropped to a safe level while the recoil spring provides a secondary means of preventing slide movement. Unlike those pistols mentioned at the beginning of this article, because of the weight of the slide, the spring does not have to be so strong as to make manual retraction of the slide difficult. I had several persons of varying stature, hand sizes, and strength rack the Hi-Point’s slide and none experienced any difficulty.

Hi-Point pistols are striker fired and utilize a single-action trigger mechanism. A thumb safety on the left side of the frame blocks the sear when engaged. To provide additional protection, the design includes a spring-loaded sear block that falls under the sear pin arm and prevents sear movement if the pistol is dropped while a weight counteracts sear movement.


Hi-Point pistols are striker fired and use a single-action trigger mechanism. They feature polymer frames and slides cast from an aluminum/zinc alloy. Their safety levers and magazine releases are conventionally located.

As is SOP today, Hi-Point pistols come with a trigger lock known as the Dual Lock. The two halves are placed on both sides of the trigger guard (of an unloaded pistol) and are locked together by means of a spring-loaded shaft turned by a special two-prong key. Additional security can be provided by inserting a padlock (customer supplied) through a hole on the end of the shaft.

Controls of the sample JCP and JHP pistols were well located, and the trigger and the magazine release were easy to operate. The manual safety, while positive in operation and secure in either position, was on the small side and a bit difficult to manipulate without moving the pistol around in one’s hand. The .40-caliber JCP comes with a single-column, nine-round magazine while the .45 ACP pistol comes with a 10-round magazine. All magazines come with large base pads to ensure positive insertion and prevent damage if they are ejected onto the ground. A generous mag well opening allows fumble-free reloading, and magazines fell free when the release was pressed–loaded or empty, slide forward or locked back.

A simple magazine safety, consisting of a steel bar (magazine lockout, part No. 35) underneath the right grip panel, blocks the trigger bar from pushing the sear cam if the magazine is removed. When a magazine is inserted, it bears against a curved portion of the lockout bar, pushing it sideways so the trigger bar can move to engage the sear cam. In addition, a clearance cut at the rear of the chamber, near the extractor, allows one to visually ascertain if a cartridge is in the chamber.

In common with most semiautomatic pistols, the Hi-Point’s slide locks back when the magazine is empty, but it lacks a manual slide release. Thus the magazine must be removed (a loaded one may be inserted if you intend to keep on firing) and the slide pulled slightly to the rear to release the internal hold open. Then the slide is allowed to run forward and return to battery.


The .40- and .45-caliber Models JCP and JHP use single-column magazines with massive base pads.

GREAT SIGHTS & EXCELLENT TRIGGERS
The two features I found commendable were the sights and trigger pulls. Both pistols come standard with a blade front sight integral with a full-length rib on top of the slide and a rear sight that is adjustable for windage and elevation. (For those who favor such sighting equipment, Hi-Point offers an optional ghost ring rear sight.) The standard sights utilize a three-dot system for fast sight acquisition and positive alignment, but instead of the usual white dots, those on the Hi-Point pistols are Day-Glo orange in color. Now, I don’t know about you folks, but as I have grown older I have found that sights with brightly colored dots or inserts are most helpful towards my hitting the target. The three Day-Glo dots sort of jump out at you and grab your optical attention, even in dim light.

Now for the triggers. As I mentioned earlier, the Hi-Point pistol is fitted with a single-action trigger. According to my gunsmith’s trigger pull scale, the required weight to letoff was just under four pounds, and those on both pistols had small amounts of takeup and broke very crisply. One would not be out of place calling their trigger pulls impressive.


Hi-Point Pistols At The Range
Factory Load Muzzle Velocity (fps) 15-yard Accuracy (inches)
.40-Caliber Model JCP, 4.5-Inch Barrel
Federal 135-gr. BallistiClean 1190 3.25
Remington 155-gr. JHP 1176 2.75
Black Hills 165-gr. EXP 1191 3.13
PMC 180-gr. Starfire 936 3.00
.45-Caliber Model JHP, 4.5-Inch Barrel
Winchester 185-gr. Silvertip 950 2.50
PMC 200-gr. SWC 908 3.13
Federal 230-gr. Hydra-Shok 860 3.00
Remington-UMC 230-gr. JHP 841 2.75
NOTES: Accuracy is the average of three five-shot groups fired from an Outer’s Pistol Perch shooting rest at 15 yards. Velocity is the average fo five rounds measured 15 feet from the guns’ muzzles.

Despite their, shall I say odd, appearance, the Hi-Point pistols proved to be well balanced with ergonomically friendly grips. In fact, when practicing presentations with an unloaded pistol, I found it possessed natural pointing qualities, whether gripped two-handed or unsupported. The sample pistols were both 6.3 inches in height and 1.34 inches in width. They are covered by Hi-Point’s lifetime warranty.

Field-stripping for normal maintenance is fairly straightforward. First remove the magazine and retract the slide to verify the chamber is empty. Then move the slide to its rearmost position, push the manual safety up in the small, forward notch and lock the slide to the rear. The slide retainer pin at the rear of the frame is now exposed through the large (rear) safety notch in the slide. Using a 1/8-inch pin punch, remove the retainer pin from the frame. Pull the safety down and ease the slide forward. Retract the slide about 3/8 inch and pull upward. Hold the rear of the slide and push forward, removing it from the frame. Reassemble in reverse order.

SURPRISINGLY RELIABLE & EXCEPTIONALLY AFFORDABLE
I have little doubt that some readers are already expressing doubts about Hi-Point pistols based solely upon their appearance and price. And while this is understandable, it cannot be condoned. Many years ago I read a two-part pro/con article about the so-called Saturday Night Special controversy. While the author of the “con” article condemned inexpensive handguns as the “weapons of choice of criminals,” the “pro” side’s author made a most succinct point when he said, “Your ‘Saturday Night Special’ is someone else’s heirloom. Or perhaps, more important, the only handgun they can afford!”

Brown told me the reason they brought out Hi-Point firearms was to give the average working person a well-made gun (made in the USA) that was affordable. “So many gun makers have priced themselves out of reach of the ‘average’ person’s pocketbook,” he said. “We see and talk to customers every day that use our guns for self-defense, hunting, and truck, boat, or camp guns. A commercial halibut fisherman from Alaska told me he uses one of our .45 pistols to shoot the halibut prior to landing them. A bear hunting guide told me he gives his bow hunting customers one of our .45s to take to the stand with them. We have our guns at many indoor ranges across the country; in fact, they are used for the exact same things as all the other gunmakers’ guns are used for! They offer the man/woman who may not have an extra $300 to $700 for a gun a gun that’s reliable and affordable.”


The author was impressed with the Hi-Point pistols’ shootability, which is partly due to their easy-to-see sight system.

Let’s be honest. You don’t need to spend a fortune on a handgun for protecting your home. A firearm used for defensive purposes should have several characteristics: It must be safe and completely reliable in operation; it should fire a cartridge powerful enough for the job at hand; and it should provide sufficient accuracy at the distances at which it is likely to be used. If it does that, it doesn’t matter if it costs $100 or $1000.

But this should in no way be construed as an excuse for not practicing with said handgun! Anyone who owns a firearm–for whatever reason–should make a point of practicing with it on a regular basis to become familiar with its operation, learn and practice safe handling procedures, and hone their shooting skills.

When I found out I would be evaluating Hi-Point pistols, I posted a question concerning them on a shooter’s Internet forum I use on a regular basis. I received a total of 18 responses from persons who either owned or knew someone who owned a Hi-Point pistol. Of them, 17 were completely positive. Now, I know this is hardly a scientific survey, but I still found the responses most enlightening.

When it came time to conduct my own shooting evaluation of the Hi-Point pistols, my father and I went to my gun club. Pacing off 15 yards, I set up a series of Birchwood/Casey Shoot-N-C targets, and we proceeded to fire three five-shot groups with each ammunition load.

We found the two pistols more accurate than either of us had at first assumed; most of our groups were in the sub-three-inch range. With the .45-caliber Hi-Point Model JHP, honorable mention goes to Winchester’s 185-grain Silvertip load, which consistently printed the tightest groups, while the .40-caliber Model JCP showed a definite preference for Remington 155-grain JHP loads.


Hi-Point pistols disassemble easily. Locking back the slide lines up a notch on the slide that exposes the takedown pin in the frame.

We then fired five rounds of each brand of ammunition across my chronograph, the results of which can be see in the accompanying chart.

It was then time to see how the Hi-Points handled in a series of offhand drills. Not having a suitable holster, I began each drill holding the pistol at a 45-degree angle to the ground (low ready position) and, using a D-1 target set out at seven yards, performed t
he following drill with each pistol. First lift the pistol and fire nine rounds, slow aimed fire. Then reload and lift the pistol and double tap the target. Lower and repeat three more times. Then I reloaded and repeated the second drill, firing the pistol unsupported. The final drill was to lift the pistol and fire nine rounds as fast as a flash sight picture could be obtained.

The vast majority of the rounds I sent downrange found their way to the high scoring rings of their respective targets. In fact, close examination of the targets showed that only two rounds were outside the X- or 10-ring with each pistol. You can say that the Hi-Point pistols are inexpensive, but don’t ever say they don’t shoot. They shoot darn well!

The first thing that must be mentioned in my summation is that even though they were fed a steady diet of JHP and SWC ammunition with bullets of widely varying weights, both pistols proved 100 percent reliable from the first shot to the last. That’s right, there was not a single failure to feed, fire, or eject out of the 200+ rounds fired through each gun.


The sample pistols were surprisingly accurate with factory ammunition. Most groups averaged about three inches at 15 yards.

Considering their operating system, felt recoil was very soft, which enhanced controllability and the ability to make fast follow-up shots. A plus for those of you who reload is that spent cases were only ejected about three feet to the right of the shooter. Additionally, the orange dots on the front and rear sights made target acquisition fast and positive.

I have to admit that their massive slides made them feel a bit “odd” in my hand, especially under rapid fire. But it should be remembered that the circumstances under which these pistols are likely to see service, this should not be a problem.

I was suitably impressed with the reliability, accuracy, and handling qualities displayed by both pistols. I think it would be fair to say that if you are in the market for an eminently affordable handgun that is capable of firing authoritative cartridges for home defense or informal plinking, a Hi-Point pistol may just fill the bill.

  • Eddie Villegas

    I have the high point 45 acp and have shot over three thousand rounds of all brands through this gun. Also some hot hand loads with out one hick up. Good all around gun very satisfied and I will order another.

    • Bill McGinnis

      I just bought an HP 9mm and HP 45 at a gun show. Wow! A great wepon at an affordable price. Thank you Highpoint for doing the right thing and manufacturing a reliable product at a price that is within reach of the working man. The JCP and JHP chacterize good old American ingenuity. Thank you Highpoint!

  • Paul Scott

    I took my son out shooting for the 1st time last week. We shot a HP.380, HP C-9mm, HP .40 S&W and HP 9mm carbine AND a Beretta .32.

    We experienced one jam after a couple hundred rounds. It was the Beretta!

    I plan to buy more HP's.

  • j.davis

    Just went out and purchased the hipoint 45,I owned a HP 45 about 16 years ago when they only held 7 rounds,the bolt didn't lock back after the last round was fired and the sights were fixed.I never had a single misfire out of that gun,and all i fired thru it were reloads! I feel for the money,This is one of the best firearms on the market today.

  • Roger Huggins

    Took my HiPoint 45 aka Glovebox Gun to the range today. Such a pleasure to fire with recoil being all but absent and rounds load so easily. I had more fun shooting it versus my Sig P250-C 40S&W, Sig P250-F 9mm and S&W 15-22P 22lr. Can't wait to take it out again and at least now I know it is an accurate self defense firearm.

  • A.R. PRYOR

    I recently purchased a H/P ..40 cal carbine.It was one of my best purchases for the price.I like the .40 carbine,its rugged,accurate and inexpensive.The only thing I don't like is the sling location,i preferr it to be on the left.I am now consedering the purchase of a .40 cal hand gun.

  • https://www.facebook.com/TjCarrell Tj Carrell

    I just ordered a new Hi Point .45 from the Gun Source, for only $160! I can hardly wait until they send it. I took the info to the shop today so they could fax in their info and do the transfer. It didn't say… but I assume it comes with at least one magazine. I can't imagine they would sell you a pistol without a mag! Just to be safe, I ordered a spare mag anyway.

    • Porchrail

      I have the 9mm, ordered 2 extra mags from the factory- $15 each, total of $30. I stopped by a local gun shop, and they told me they have some mags for the Hi-Points, but the older mags don't have the last shot hold open feature.

  • Randy Derry

    I have a .40& .45 the .40 works great the .45 has a jam issue once in a while.

    • Butch

      try a better quality ammo on the 45

  • Joseph Rodriguez

    Just got .40 last thursday cant wait to try it tomorrow I hope it performs as good as I here it does

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100002763595955 Rebecca Hurst

    That looks great! I just got my husband one of these for Christmas. I would like to get some shoot n-c targets for him to practice with too!

  • dan

    I've enjoyed my .45. I've had some issues with bear ammo. It seems to love eathing pretty much everything else. I also had a couple of jams with one magazine, however no issues with a secondary magzine. I think the issue there though is that the mag spring is very weak and the newer magzine is about 2x-3x stronger. A lot of people dont like these guns, however I do. I can afford to buy extras for my car, basement, etc. If you have a cabin, camper, trailer, etc -this may be something you should stock and put away some place with some hollow-points – just leave it there until its needed and if you happen to forget your CCW pistol, etc, you are covered.

  • 40 SW. guy

    I just bought 2 Hi Point JCP's 40 cal. Yesterday. I already have the JHP 45 which has been 100 percent reliable. I mean ZERO malfunctions in 750 rds. All I did before our first range trip with the 45 was to clean the bore and wipe out the chamber & breach with Hoppes no 9 and put a light coat of Hoppes gun oil on the parts of the rail I could get to w/o disassembling (emphasis on "without disassembling"). Netanyahu advice for shooting the JCP. cleaning, ammo etc. Any info would be great
    -Any. advice for the Jcp"Shot WWB and Remington all 230 gr round nose. I need m.

    • mark

      Just make sure you tear the gun down and clean it good once In a while and you will never have a problem

      • chuck

        allso polish the feed ramp if you ever do get a jam. I run 110hp reloads and never had any problems in my old 9mm c

  • Gino

    I like my 9mm carbine from Hi-Point a lot and I enjoy the simplicity of the 9mm "c" handgun as well.
    I do not pretend to be a marksman but i can shoot straight enough to hit my target at 30 yards out.
    And that is why i have a 9mm, so I would be able to hit my target. There is no point in having a 40 cal or a .45 if you can not hold it in your hands to shoot it. A 9mm is perfect for self defense and concealed carry.
    Hi-Point makes cheap and reliable guns, and the reliable part is all that matters.

    • Dave

      A 9mm is perfect for self-defense? A 9mm carries more rounds for a reason. I carry a 1911 concealed. It's a small enough hand gun my brother-in-law who is only around 5'6" can shoot it with his little hands no problem. In fact, he liked it so well he bought one. The 9mm can be as reliable as you want, but if the bullets don't do anything to stop the bad guy, what does the reliabilty do? Stopping power. The 9 will do wonders if shot in the head, but in a "self-defense" situation, who the hell is going to take time to aim at the head? The chest is a bigger target AND at the right height. A .45 will knock you off your feet if you're hit with it.

      • https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000522475265 Alan Brown

        TELL THE ORLANDO SECURITY GUARD HIT 5 TIMES WITH A 45 AND KILLED THE PUNK WITH HIS 38 SPECIAL REVOLVER.I CARRIED THE 45 IN THE MILITARY,BUT THE 9MM RECOILS LESS FOR WOMEN & INEXPERIENCED MEN ALLOWING THEM THE ABILITY TO AIM BETTER.DONT KNOCK OTHERS CHOICES.MY BACK-UP PISTOL IS A 357 SNUB NOSE,DUTY WEAPON IS A 9MM.

        • http://www.facebook.com/delbert.gue Delbert Gue

          Having used a variety of duty weapons over the years and especially in the military, I transitioned from a .45 which I carried in Vietnam to a .38 S&W Mod 10 to the Beretta 92. When I was in 'nam, you could trade a 1911 for 2 and sometimes 3 BHPs (9mm) used by the Aussies, Brits and canuks. I have used a variety of calibers, but the one that stands out as the best overall manstopper, combat wise, has been the .45. There is something that when a hi charged enemy combatant's body is hit with a 230 grain, slow moving chunk of lead, seems to recognize the futility of moving any more. The overall favorite cartridge I carry is my 1911 based .38 super. I have always favored the 1911 but having wrist damage in my dominant hand with limited range of motion, the .38 Super has less recoil, approaches .357 magnum ballistics and terminal damage inflicted, well it just plain works for me. I will always have a fondness for the ole .45 above all other combat/self defense rounds however.

  • Sirex

    Being a father and provider in a bad economy, limited me on the firerarms I could purchase. I did the internet research, and purchased a C9. I found it heavy, which I actually like, recoil mild, and shoots everything. At the range, I seemed to be the only pistoler not having problems, except running out of ammo. I bought the 9mm as a compromise, so my wife could handle it if needed. However I love my C9 so much, I bought a .45ACP as well. I eventually want a carbine, but that's later. The things I love about the C9; 1.Price 2: Lifetime warranty on the gun, not ownership 3.Reliability 4. Comfort, lesser recoil 5. I actually like the weight, but I don't carry. The gun itself could be used as a weapon if you run out of ammo.6. I like the sights and ghost ring included, as well a s a built in rail for light good for identifying noises in the night Dislikes; 1. I don't like the grips 2. Field stripping is not super easy, and a punch is needed.3. I wish they were a bit customizable, but hard to complain for the price. 4.I wish HP made a cheap .22 plinker. Just try one and you'll be convinced. Made in the USA!!!

    • Doug

      I too wish Hi-point would make a cheap .22 plinker. I love my Hi Point C9, and may eventually get a Hi Point 9mm carbine.

    • Tug

      So, I guess I'm spoiled. This HP is my first, and probably last, .45. I've shot the 9mm CZ Phantom (bought when introduced) the CZ curio 9MM Makarov, and an Astra 9mm largo. I guess the blowback action isn't a big deal with me. The 45 fit my hand great (with the Hogue helper), it compliments my 13 EE boots. I broke it in with 250 rounds of reload ammo that came largely loose packed – no jams. The whole package of gun, box of 50 rounds, reg. and background totaled $199.97. Don't know how you beat that – especially when it shot straight. If I buy another .45 – it will be for fun, investment, etc… and it will be because I have money to burn – not because of what the HP lacks! Thanks!

  • Puma Catcher

    I have owned a great deal of handguns in my 65 years. Never have I had a pistol as reliable as the Hi-Point 40 S&W! For those of you who prefer to carry a pistol other than a revolver into the deep wilderness, I cannot say enough about the Hi-Point 40 S&W! Pretty? Not even close! Accurate? In pare with any revolver I have owned! Heavy? Yes! Inexpensive? Very! A good deal? Well, let's put it this way: Should you ever find yourself in survival mode, you will smile at the fact that you made a great choice when you feel the Hi-Point .45 or .40 strapped to your side! Why? Because these pistols are reliable work-horses and will not fail you when needed most! Thanks Hi-Point! God Bless made in America!

  • Jonny Rang

    Just bought a HP .45ACP. Not sure if you consider it a misfire, but you can shoot 3 or 4 rounds out then the trigger goes dead. After squeezing the trigger 5 to 10 times the gun will shoot again. Can anybody give me an idea how to fix?

    • MigSouthFla

      Best advice is to contact HP and send it in for repair. No questions/ball busting and turn around is quick.

    • Ohio Steve

      My .45 did the same thing, found out my firing pin was slightly bent. Call them they'll send you a new one.

    • MADDOG

      YES SEND IT BACK IT IS BRIKEN. MADDOG

  • ChuckfromStPete

    Mine jams once in about each 20 rounds. Did I get a lemon?

    • cory weigle

      I think you did i have the 40cal carbine and the 45 acp handgun and ive never had a jam once.

    • Greg

      make sure that the round is seated all the back of the mag otherwise just being off a little could cause this problem.

    • Daniel

      Mine jammed too. But it was the magazine not the gun. Cleaned up the magazine and it "snapped" right in. I have then shot 300 rounds through it again, and no jams.

  • Steven

    Love my 45! No recoil! As a big guy, 6'2, 270lbs, I expected major recoil. To my surprise, none worth talking about. Recommend to anyone. Very accurate and nice. Appearance is awesome, somewhat menacing.

  • Matthew

    I have the Hi-Point .40 and I've noticed that it doesn't like steel cased ammo. Other than that, I had to tweak a couple of the magazines(I bought four spares as they and the pistol were inexpensive enough for that) to stop some failures to feed. Now it runs just fine with brass cased ammo. I love this .40 and I carry it at all times. It's not only reliable and accurate, it's a heck of a lot of fun to shoot.!
    It's also heavy enough to stove in someone's skull if you need to, and sturdy enough to stand up to that kind of treatment. If you're worried about it crapping out on you, buy two of them! Two of them are still less than half the price of most new Glocks. You can buy four or five of them for the price of a new H&K or Beretta.

    • Steve B

      What did you do to the mags? I have a hp 40 as well. the only problem i have had is with the feeding. When i rack it back to chamber a round the bullet moves forward and tips down. I bought an extra mag and it does the same thing. any assistance would be great!

      • jkozura

        The key to making the Hi-Point mags work reliably is getting the feed lip distance and angle right. I had one mag that was working well and one that would jam on the second shot. I carefully bent the feed lips with a pair of needle nose pliers so that they were the same distance apart as those on the mag that was working. That solved the problem.

      • Michael G

        Slightly bend out the two tangs on the top and the front of the mag (and I mean "slightly") Your bullets are probably nose diving. This will allow the front of the bullet to rise up some and hit the feed ramp at a better angle.Then, polish your feed ramp with some 400 grit wet/dry sandpaper and then some polishing compound. That should do it.

  • kevin

    just bought HP .40 this after noon, only had enough day light for 25 rounds teaching my wife to fire a handgun, not a fan of the bulkiness but i can handle it, only real drawback was my wife had trouble pulling back the slide, other then that all seem real good except for the price, i got mine for 200, but the gun shop around here is pricey any way

  • Sal M

    Just bought a 40 cal carbine put about 100 rounds through it no problems at all and right on the money right out of the box. The most important thing is it's made in the USA, remember us USA, if more people bought USA products no one would be out of work.

  • Kromwell

    Plus you'll be sent a free magazine from "MOM" as well, for it needing repair

  • Dave

    I'm picking up the HP .45 next week (waiting on my purchase permit from the Sheriff's office). The salesperson said she's had a lot of guys come in and said it's a bit picky on ammo as far as jams are concerned. I'd like to get one that would be reliable for both target practice AND home defense – any recommendations as far as brand and grain?

  • Dave

    Hey Matthew, what is the model/part number of the Handall grip you bought? Was it for the .45?
    Thanks!!
    Dave

  • Jeff D

    Hi there, I bought the 40mm carbine, cleaned the bore slightly, wipped of a little crude and rammed 300 rounds of remanufacutered ammo thru, (500 for $139). no misfires or jams, one mag fed the fist round better than the other, but that is normal with multiple mags, my $900+ .45 Springfield is even more sensitive with mags and ammo. Unbeliveable little carbine, no kick at all, hit everything and blows thru mags fast. can't be happier. Now I have a cheap bushnell 4×32 .22 scope on it and zeroed at 50 yd, 3-4 inch groups easy off hand. Still haven't cleaned it. I guess I will this weekend. It deserves a good cleaning. Best $350 I ever spent ,may get the .45 pistol and will be mad when it shoots as good as my Sprinfield .45. Go HI-power!

  • vincent cruxiffico

    have started my armory with a ruger s.a. in .357 and 9mm convertable. .357, has gone this way, marlin 1895, ruger 77/.357, charter pug. i bet you can guess which way the 9mm is going. i am sufficiently impressed with these comments….

  • Gary Franklin

    I intend to own one of each that HP makes. I have 3 now and others on back order. In my 76 years on earth I have owned many different weapons but from now own it will be Hi Point.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100003325202243 Rick Wilson

    just bought a 40 and love it. thinking about a 380 for the ole lady.any thoughts?

    • jake

      buy her a glock 40 model 27 its a gem 4 and u can alo get the sub compact so its lil and easy to put in her purse for safety and its also a really good plinking gun.comes with 3 9 round clips and a speed loader only $450

    • Max

      For a women to use for self defense a revolver is the best choice double action of coarse, just pull the trigger, 38 special is my wifes's defense firearm.

    • Texas

      I have two of the HP .380's would be a very good gun for your wife. Zero kick, just a loud lil bugger. Take mine out shooting all the time and very seldom have a jam. Well worth the money.

  • andarkie

    well my first gun buy ;and yes its a hp. i thuoght iff u are gonna go' go all the way; i got the 45acp with a laser and 2 mags with a box of top rated remington shells the whole lot for under 300.00 dollars. wow! iff its really the gun i hope it is. well eat your haert out u criminals!there wil be alot more people like me

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000077298269 Ed Tosh

    I have the Hi-Point 40 SW. I love everything about it except the bulky magazine. That chunk of plastic at the bottom of the clip adds 2 extra rounds, but makes carry very bulky. Is there an 8 shot clip that solves this?

  • http://www.facebook.com/jeremy.lamano Jeremy Hurst Lamano

    Long live American companies like hi point.don't listen to the haters.spent some time and about 400 rounds to break it in, but last weekend went plate for plate with a comp shooter and hoods fancy glock .he won but not because of the gun, i'm not a crack shot.but I have more money to practice because my pistol was 148.00 out the door.keep Americans working in America.

  • Ohio Steve

    I have a Hi Point .45 acp an love it, really like the Ghost sight with it. Just bought the Hi Point c9 (9mm), I pre oiled it before i ever shot it. It jammed once on the first clip. No problems the next 192 rounds. Great Gun for the Money!!! Not bad a .45 and 9mm for less than $350.00

  • TC in Florida

    I have never owned a firearm,and now after much investigation,have decided I will be purchasing a Hi-point 9mm pistol to get me started in exercising my second amendment rights…Thanks to all who've generously shared your experiences on this forum.

  • kenneth

    just got a brand new highpoint 9mm from local gunshow, beeing reading alot of negative views about the gun, but so far no jams at all, but what is the best ammo to shoot in this gun

    • P. Scott

      Stay away from Winchester in a white box, steel and aluminum cased ammo.
      Hollow points work most of the time.
      I shoot Remington brass thru mine which I find is reasonably priced.
      I own several Hipoints… .380, 9mm, .40 S&W, 45 acp, 9mm carbine and 40 cal carbine.
      Rock solid.
      Next up, HP .45 carbine.
      Just typing this makes me want to go out to the range!

  • mark dilon

    Going to buy the 45 hi point on the 23d and i am like A 50 year old kid. I cant wait and after reading all this great commrnts i dont think i will sleep till i get the vaquero next week . And thanks for all the great imfo. I was somewhat optomistik with the price being so low. Just happens to be one helluva deal. Thanks America, youve done it again. Yea Dillon. If anyone knows of a good scope combo write me and let me know. I would evern consider a flashlight

  • Get a real gun

    It sounds to me like the same person wrote all of these comments. I have owned firearms my entire life including two hi point c9s and a hi point 40 cal.. I had several buddies shoot all of them and none of us could get a full magazine fired through any of them without all of them constantly failing to feed and eject. Of it would have been just one pistol having the problems I would have chalked it up to getting a lemon. But all three of them doing it, come on. Hi points are junk. I wouldn't give you a dollar for another hi point. Your better off not having a gun than having a hi point. At least if you don't have a hi point gun the guy shooting you with his weapon won't be laughing at you while he is killing you.

    • yorbles

      wanna sell em?

    • Scooter

      My only suggestion to you would be to quit using your crappy hand-loads and go buy a box of ammo. I bet you won't have any more problems with your Hi-Point. Anyone who actually owns a Hi-Point knows that they are worth every penny and shoot great.

      • Rob

        Hand loads are not the problem…. I boutght my 45acp 2 years ago and never fired anything BUT hand loads (speer gold dot 230gr @ about 700fps) only had one jamb and a quick tweek of the secondary mag fixed that. I've been shooting all my life and shot many different types. Had a ruger p90 that I love, bought the HP for a home defence (short range) unit just to have handy……… the only one I shoot now… !!

    • Max

      I have owned a Colt Mark IV 45 ACP for 30 years and after the first clip it jams on the second clip and it doesn't matter what bullet you use. I bought an HP 45 ACP a year ago and it has not jammed yet. In my opinion auto loaders are for plinking my home defense firearm is a 5 shot 454 Casull revolver it never jams.

    • MAC

      If they are so crappy, why did you buy 3 of them?? I cant get mine to jam…

    • gary

      Let's talk sale price, if they suck so bad ,I'll go $100 a piece,,or that dollar you mentioned,,you can reach me at bagamoto@yahoo.com.

    • american

      I have a 40 hp 0ne jam in 300 rounds . sound like you need to learn how to properly handle a hp

    • edwin fernandez

      All Hi Point gun comes with a lifetime warranty. They are accurate and reliable, I carry mine and keep it close to my bed. I own a 45 pistol with a lasersight. I take mine to the range and never had anything wrong with it. If someone points a hi point 45 with a lasersight at you, I guess you wouldn’t try ducking because you feel that this gun will not work? I think your an idiot for not sending those guns you claim you own to Hi Point. PS try cleaning your gun or it could be your magazine not feeding the bullet right dummy.

  • Jack

    After reading all of these reviews (on other sites/forums as well) with very little bad to be said about the weapon, I've decided I am going to purchase one. Sure, they're ugly. They might even be bulky (According to some posters), but all of that pales in comparison to having a weapon jam, FTF or FTE, when you need it to fire. While I'm sure that every company has lemons, these seem to produce less and thanks to the lifetime warranty, I don't need to worry about wasting my money having it repaired, whatever the reason. With the addition of being made in america, it's a no brainer. I'll be placing an order very soon.

  • yorbles
  • Joe Woodwell

    What kinds of holsters are available for the HP 9mm and .45 pistols? Any recommendations??

    • gary

      just go to local pawn shops.

    • fox

      Could i please by one if you still have one or more I will give you $150 for one you can anser me at
      foxtheredsniper@gmail.com
      Please please please please please let me know

    • Ryan

      Fobus HP-2 is a great one for the 9. Very comfortable.

    • Steven P

      Hi-point’s website has a couple of holsters. No shipping or sales tax. Mag’s are lot’s cheaper than gun shows and you can bet they are factory.

  • brian

    i just purchased an older .45 jh from a friend. ( the jh is the older all steel model) i have ran over 100 rounds through it so far and not any issues at all. its big, loud and makes big holes in targets. all other bells and whistles found in more costly firearms aside, these are the only things a firearm needs to do reliably, and my jh does them well. i love it and will buy more from Hi Point.

  • AL in STL

    IT'S 4/13/12…BOUGHT MY .40 TWO YEARS AGO BECAUSE OF INCREASE OF MISHAPS IN THE NEIGHBORHOOD. IT SITS CLOSE AT HAND IN MY SMALL APT BUT HAS NEVER BEEN USED. THE ARTICLE ABOVE & ALL OF THE ABOVE COMMENTS HAVE INCREASED MY KNOWLEDGE A THOUSANDFOLD…GOING TO DO ITS 1st CLEANING SUNDAY (THE ARTICLE'S INFO ABOUT DISASSEMBLING IS SO MUCH BETTER THAT THE .40'S MANUAL, PLUS INFO PASSED ON BY
    A FEW OF YOU).
    THANK YOU ALL EVER SO MUCH FOR TAKING THE TIME TO PASS ON YOUR VERY HELPFUL PERSONAL INSIGHTS ABOUT A REALLY GOOD AMERICAN ARMS COMPANY & THE ESPECIALLY GOOD PRODUCTS THEY CREATE. BEST TO YOU AND YOURS, FOLKS…

    • Jeremy

      Where is the article on disassembling the gun?

  • BuddyBiker911

    Hi Point firearms are average firearms at below average prices… I'm retired LE and I've had numerous handguns over the past 30 years… Presently, I carry a 45ACP Glock Model 30SF loaded with Federal Classic 158gr. JHP… However, I don't care what a handgun cost or what it looks like. If it goes bang and it's fairly accurate, it will do the job just fine… Additionally, most legal handgun owners are rarely trained or routinely practice with their firearms… If you own a handgun, KNOW IT, USE IT, CLEAN IT AND ABOVE ALL, SECURE IT!!! Most handguns used in crimes are stolen from STUPID people (some with badges) who probably shouldn't own one in the first place… By the way, if you want a handgun for home protection and your not willing or able to get the proper training, FORGET IT!!! When your hands start shaking and you crapping your pants (adrenaline shock), your not going to make the shot!!! Do yourself a favor and get a 12 gauge 18.5" pump action shotgun and load it up with HIGH QUALITY / FRANGIBLE / LOW RECOIL / 00 BUCKSHOT… Point and shot is all you'll need to do to eliminate or stop the "problem"… Furthermore, do a "REAL LOUD RACKING" of your shotgun just prior to confrontation and you'll probably never need to fire a round… EVERYONE KNOWS TO RESPECT THAT SOUND OR IT MAY BE THE LAST SOUND THEY HEAR!!! NEVER FORGET 9-11!!!

  • Andrew

    I just bought the 9MM carbine and am more than pleased with it.Right out of the box it fired 200 rounds perfectly,and after a good cleaning and oiling,it fired 300 more flawlessly.I carry a 9MM CZ-75 and wanted to stay in Caliber.So tired of hearing the 9MM-45ACP wars.9MM is a good round,inexpensive and any well placed round is a good round.I carry a Taurus Ultralite 38 Spc. as backup,and the best part about this Carbine is that is is less money than either one,my only wish is that it came with a hi-cap magazine………..

  • mac280z

    I own many handguns and im not a snob when it comes to getting best bang for your buck, i went to the local gun store and picked up a 45 hipoint, yup its big but it would be scary looking to a bad guy if it was pointed at him!! I shot clip after clip out of my new HP and i was waitng for a jam but it didnt happen, it shot perfect and because of the size and weight it was very controlable, I picking up the c9 and the 40 tomorow…BUY AMERICAN. the job you save may be your own….

  • capnjim42

    Bought the 45 cal. Hi Point at a gun show. It fired fine at the range. It is heavy as a brick. When I brought it home and cleaned it, while apart, parts started falling off of it. Putting it back together, I found that the trigger would not engage. Operationally it is a good defensive weopen, just don't take it apart to clean it.

    • gary

      or know what you are doing,it's not the gun,guns have no brains,,

  • Jim

    I recently purchased a HP 40, shoot fine no jams but never locks open on empty, Did I miss something ?

    • Dave

      I would send it back and they will fix it and send you a free magazine for your trouble.

  • Dave

    Bought the highpoint .45 and took it to the range today. Put 100 rounds through it and found it to be very accurate and that the recoil is very manageable- groupings were 2.5" at 25 feet. Did not have any jams or failure to ejects and the weapon felt good.. Very satisfied with the purchase and plan to buy another highpoint in the future.

  • john abdulkaffaz

    great gun accurate even up to 50 yards believe or not with the federal 40 sw bullets

  • F4FNTM

    I have 2, the 380 and the 40. i take the 380 with me in the car (yes i have a CPL). The 40 is for home. Both have been very reliable. I go to the range at least once a week rotating between both hand guns. Happy camper.

    Well done hi-point on a reliable and affordable firearm.

    • harry boress

      My .40 Hi Point clip goes all the way in when empty but sticks out the bottom an eighth of an inch when I put 6 shells in the mag.Is that normal?

  • guest

    There's a reason "professionals" don't use Hi-Points. Have you ever seen a 20 year old Hi-Point? They don't exsist.

    • George

      Glocks are better for carrying. HP are better for shooting.

    • Bull

      There are a lot of guns made 20 years ago that don't exist now. The nice thing about a hi point made in the first year is if it breaks they will still fix it for free. try that with your 20 year old Glock.

  • Johnie Ball

    A common 'fix' for people having issues with racking the slide is applying a approx. 1 inch square of grip tape like what is found on skateboards on each side of the slide where the hand normally grabs…this worked for me and the Hi Point owners I know and shoot with.

  • Brad C.

    I got a Hi-Point C9 9mm for 164.00 out the door including tax at a Memorial Day weekend sale. I got it after reading many reviews and lots of research.I am going to the range next week after pay day to shoot it. I will most likely be getting the Hi-Point 45ACP soon.All the good reviews of people who own hi-points are what made me buy one as well as the price.If you take care of your gun cleaning ect. you will have no problems and even the most expensive gun can jam ect.All the haters paid too much for there guns (Glocks,Berettas,Colts)These guns arn't bad at all and if they were with the lifetime waranty the company would be out of business if they were junk or poorly made.

  • Jonathon

    I was wondering if someone could tell my why my high point .40S&W will not chamber a round if I try to load a full 10 round clip. it will chamber with 5 or 6 rounds but not with a full clip

    • Dave

      Bad magazine, or bad ammo …… look at u tube for videos on how to adjust the magazine.

      It's not the gun it almost always the ammo or mag.

  • Dean

    Well, it's nice to hear from all you Hi Point owners. I to love the Hi Point line, I have the 380, 9mm, 40& 45 and a 9mm carbine. Not one problem with any of them, and I shoot a heck of a lot. Because I shoot alot, I have to shoot cheap. I found TulAmmo from Cheaper Than Dirt really works great in all my Hi Point firearms. iI tried Wolf ammo, but like you guys I ended up picking most of the rounds out of the extractor and throwing them at the target. Got a couple decent groups though !!! Oh and add my vote for a 22, and please let it match the style of the other pistols. THANX —- HI POINT

  • Bill H.

    I bought a HI-point 40 cal yesterday. I have yet to fire it (haven't had the chance yet). I will be going to a firing range soon. This is the first semi-automatic I've owned. What should I expect in way of recoil? Strong or mild? Don't get me wrong, I'm a good marksman. I simply need straightforward, truthful advice. Thx in advance for your time,…..

    • Dave

      Recoil is low due to the heavy slide, fun to shoot! :)

  • Avg. Joe

    Just a quick note about Hi-Point’s customer service. I own the .380, 9mm, .40, .45 pistol and 9mm Carbine. One day I was cleaning the 9mm pistols after a trip to the range and decided to use carburetor cleaner on the pistol ………. BAD IDEA! The finish on the slide came off on my cleaning rag and became a gooey mess. I was horrified at what I did to the finish, even if it was a sub $200 gun. I called Hi-Point and told them what I had done and they said “No problem, send it back and we’ll take care of it”. Not only did I get it back within 10 days, but I got a extra magazine for my trouble. All that for the cost of shipping it to them. How can you possibly beat that for service?! Thanks again Hi-Point!

  • Dave

    I just shot my hi point 40 for the first time, I put 200 rounds through it, I had 1 failure to feed (my fault, didn't pull the slide back far enough) and one 3 point jam … after that it fired great …. it's usually the magazines on the hi points that cause the most problems, I rap the magazine on my palm after loading it to make sure that all the rounds are facing up and I also polished the feed ramp. I shot federal rounds and they worked great, I'm going to try Remington as I use this ammo in my 22 and rarely have any duds. The recoil is very light due to the slide being so heavy.

    I've heard hi points don't like steel case ammo so I used brass only … I'm pretty happy, I shot clip after clip without a problem .. the gun is accurate after sighting in.

    The 2 problems I had were with the hollow points but after the first 2 clips not even a hiccup!

  • Brandon

    I had a hi point .40 cal and it jammed at least once with every single mag that I loaded into it. I shot it plenty and gave it every chance to work and it just didn't. I used different mags and it still was unreliable. I don't think I will ever buy another hi point. I really would like to think that I could buy another one and have it to actually work as good as most of the people on here say that it does but I just can't believe it.

    • Mike

      I have the .45 and 9mm both in the handguns and the carbines. I have shot them a lot. . . don't count the rounds. The subrifles have never jammed. The 45 has never jammed. The 9mm. has only jamed a few times and this is because I never cleaned it upon purchase. These are my favorite range guns simply because they point well, have little recoil, and they are accurate for me. I trust these weapons for home defense. I also have the 40 cal. handgun in green. It does tend to be temperamental in terms of stovepipe type jams. I haven't given up on her yet though. The 40 cal. round is a snappy round. I have improved the situation with adjustments on the lips of the magazines. I will also be experimenting with different types of ammo. I have heard it likes Remington.

  • George

    I very much like my HP .45 ACP, it works great with my cast reloads, fits my XXL hands, and I prefer it to my buddies 1911s. I would like a HP 9mm on a full-size frame….to replace my Glock 17, that doesn't care for my reloads.

  • S.D.Jones

    I have a High Point .380. I've heard all the negative comments but when I pull the trigger it goes, "BANG" and it hits what I am at. The only 'problem' that I see is that some people may be a little snobbish about their guns. When you get right down to it, the weapon does the exact same thing a $1000 weapon does. On thing is for sure, I wouldn't want to be on the receiving end of one.

  • jimk

    To all those who say they bought one and AlL it did was jam, why not take advantage of the lifetime warranty? It isn't THAT expensive to ship it back to them, and they give you an extra magazine, which fairly pays for the shipping. They are an American company, located in my home state Ohio. American workers, making American guns, tell me again, why should I buy a German gun, I thought I was supposed to buy American? I do not own a high point, yet, but will most likely be buying one after reading this, and watching the guy nail nails with one.

    • xia1498

      The only way
      UPS or Fedex would ship one here was overnight with freight close to $90.00

  • Michael G.

    I got a Hi point .380. It worked great for a while. It started having trouble feeding and not firing. Turns out I had a broken sear block spring which stopped the sear from going down with the pull of the trigger. It`s an extra safety feature so it won`t fire if dropped. I just got done polishing the feed ramp and checking the angle of the bullets coming out of the magazine. I am eliminating the sear block. I`ll go shoot it tomorrow and then post again. Outside of that problem it always worked GREAT!

  • mike F

    remember there is a life time warrenty on HP guns, i bought a 9mm carbine that had been really abused, called them they gave me shipping instructions, sent it to HP, they completly rebiult it at no cost then sent it back with an extra mag to reimburse me for the money I spent on shipping it to them, if you have any problem call them they will make it right at no cost, i have never seen anything to compare with their service and warrenty

  • brigit janus

    1: to all the people that seem to have problems with the HP product…a little less hate for the product and maybe a bit more common sense would help you out there. 2: i've never owned a HP in my life till about 2 months ago and ended up with a .40 carbine, CF 380 and the C9….the .40 was put thru hell by my friend and i and there was no problems at any time, the same goes for the 380 and 9mm! 3: i wouldnt own another high price weapon as long as HP is still making weapons! these are super weapons….yes they are heavy….yes they are just a bit on the "ugly" side, but let me state this: at 4ft 10 3/4 inches tall and at my heaviest 108 pounds….i can put rounds in the "kill" zone with any one of the 3(the .40 carbine being the hardest for me to handle, it weighs almost as much as i do!). 4: you buy what you want but as far as i'm concerned when it comes to my personal safety…i'd rather use an american stick to defend myself than to pay for a weapon made from somewhere else! 5: HP has made another happy customer in me….thank you HP and keep on doing just what your doing because it's working! HI-POINT….KEEPING AMERICA STRONG AND SAFE!!!!

  • GunsSons

    EVERYONE RELAX GOTO GOOGLE TYPE PROMAG
    THE COMPANY PROMAG MAKES BEAUTIFUL EXTENDED 15 ROUND MAGS FOR .40 OR .45 CARBINE BUT THEY FIT INTO THE HANDGUN SEEMLESSLY. THE MAGS ARE INTERCHANGEABLE
    THEY ARE 31.00 PROBLEM SOLVED

  • mmkkpro

    I own two hipoint jhp .45s and as many have said they are reliable,rugged,and imho,look pretty darn mean,ive shot many rds through them not one problem.I recently posted a message about the jhp on a site and was immeaditly attacked from all sides,that is what bothers me,people who probly have never owned one are quick to condem them,i have seen catastrophic failures of a types of autoloaders,I am confident in my jhps,and would put them up against any other at any price,I own a colt national match gold cup and I perfer to shoot my jhps,im telling yall from experence the jhp is more accurate than the colt,I think its cause the barrel is fixed to the frame,in any case I lovve my hipoints and will continue to pull them out at the range with pride,if you guys have a chance read th biography of the owner of the company,lastly made 100% in america with pride that still means something to me,plus thier warranty is the best in the land period,thanks,mike

  • Mugs Stump

    Bought a HP .45 this week; took it to the range and fired 50 cartridges through it. Wasn't expecting much–boy, was I surprised. Trigger action was clean and snappy and felt about like 4 or 5 pounds of trigger pull. Recoil was next to nothing, resulting in rapid accurate fire. Magazine easy and quick to load, snap in, lock and load. I was smiling the whole time I was at the range–the heavy, bulky gun is a joy to shoot.

    Who woulda thunk?

    And, you know, I think the gun looks great to boot.

  • Gary Grasser

    Have a Glock 19,price$600,a Berreta 92fs,price $500,2 Hi-Point 9's,price $300. I put my Hi-Points against either Glock or Berreta any time,anywhere,made in the US,lifetime guarantee,1st owner 200th owner,never jams,ever.Over 600 rnds apiece and no jams. Bite me Europe.

    • Mugs Stump

      HA! Loved your statement–well put!

      • http://www.facebook.com/people/Gary-Kenneth-Grasser/1182036596 Gary Kenneth Grasser

        Thanks Mugs ! lol

  • david

    Took a rag and degreeser and removed all oil from gun,had a few jams out of a 100 round box of cheep 9 mm breakdown the c9 and bent the fireing pin sent it back with old mag in it got a new gun from up with 2 mags not bad for buying a 50dallor used weapon on a junk table I like mine and would buy anothereonn

  • Brent

    Good gun, heavy the .45 it a 9 shot you can get the 15 round clip from acadmy of sports for the carbine and it will work just as good, thats 15 rounds, also you can get hard lead bullets made to hunt large game or protection
    for danger game. I shot one of these and it went a foot into hard wood green cut Oak and the bullet looked
    the same as before I shot it, has a wad tip 255 grain made to go 28" through bone, hide etc. made a double tap
    Now if that dont stop a bear 15 rounds of 255grain .45acp+p hard lead bullets dont know what will, unless
    you miss 15 times, bear are big targets

  • Ed

    Have read and read peoples reviews of thier HI POINT handguns with most being positve. Just received my first HI POINT frim my FFL Dealer today that I had ordered from Buds Gun Shop in Lexington KY. I wanted an inexpensive .380. I ordered the special which was the 380 with a compensator (for my wife), it came with an 8 round and 10 round magazine, a case, and a boa hand pistol grip. Was teaching my wife how to load the 10 round magazine. I then was showing her how to put in the handgun and how to chamber the first round. THAT IS WHEN I HAD MY VERY FIRST ISSUE WITH HI POINT !!!!!!!!!!!!! The hand gun attempted to chamber 3 rounds,,,,, yes 3 ROUNDS. I kept lowering the number in the magazine until it finally chambered a round. At that point the magazine had 5 rounds in it when it was placed in the handgun,,,,,,,,,,, 5 rounds in a 10 round magazine,,,,,, wow what reliability. I am not too comfortable even firing this gun now. The 8 round magazine loaded a round the first time buit it was not smooth.

    • Mugs Stump

      Ed, have you had any better luck with the 10 round magazine? I can imagine how frustrating that must be, especially with all of us extolling the virtues of the Hi-Point. If you're still having problems, be sure and take advantage of the Hi-Point warranty–it is the best in the industry, bar none. They will replace your magazines and/or gun till they get it right. These guns are a real hoot to shoot, and I want you to have the positive experience that most of us on this forum have enjoyed!

  • kuro

    just got my new hi point 40 love it , re did the grips to make them grip a lil better but this gun feels good in the hand yes heavy as hell but thats ok, i havent fired it yet due to working and weather conditions but will be tomorrow or the next day love the look and feel and best part built in america, didnt think we made anything any more(joking) thanks hi point, and would love to see them chamber in 22 and a 223/556 carbine, might give ar's a run for their money for 300-400 instead of a thousand plus, and better price then even a beat to shit old soviet block ak or rpk/ wassr-10

  • kuro

    shot my new hi point today man this gun is alot of fun to shoot, cheap compared to the dollar a round for my 30-06 definately going to get annother in the future maybe the 40 carbine

    • Mugs Stump

      I enjoyed shooting my .45 so much I picked up a .40. Put 50 rounds though it a week ago. Seamless, accurate shooting just like the .45. Good guns.

  • shawnrbane

    I just traded an older more expensive 9 mm Springfield armory xd 9 on the Hi point 40 Cal S and W. Just shot 18 rounds no problems with it. I love it. For the price you can not beat it. That is what I want in a handgun or a carbine, something that works. It made a believer out of me. I am going to guy the 9mm in two weeks.

  • rick eppard

    i to have a high point 45…although i like a double action….my son bought it for me…I am familira with the old high points…..and always had to take the new ones apart…and use grinding compound to finish off the slides….and polish the receiver chamber…..for liability….but now with the new material they use its all good…
    but the most impressive thing ,,,that they are so dam accurate…..30 yard,s….8'' group….i will tell you thats dam good…….some times you get a gun that just fits you………I would use this gun in competition…..if you ant got one yet you better do it fast…..when people find out about these guns the price are going way up……

  • Brad

    I just went and bought a HPD .45 acp for myself and a HP .40 for the old lady. We bought them and then went and put a couple hundred rounds down range each I love the weapon no problems at all. Liked it so much I ran down and bought my father one! To all those who say they are junk must of never shot one! I plan on buying a HP in each caliber they make! One of my favorite weapons to shoot! I would recommend them to anyone!

  • Chauncey

    I went to the local gun store to specifically look at the HP .40 and they had one in stock. Had a chance to handle it and decided to purchase it. However, when telling the clerk that I wanted it, he began dissing HP products saying that I would be trying to resell it within a week for $50. He said the HP products are awful and are only goo for throwing at someone. Now, being someone that has done his due diligence in researching HP, I know that they ARE reliable and simply get a bad wrap by the gun snobs that are jealous from sinking $500+ more into their similar performing firearms. I went into this particular shop with the intent to specifically buy an HP .40 and since the clerk tried to 'scare' me out of it and recommended a more expensive brand, I decide to take my business elsewhere. HI-POINT is a great firearm for the money! HIGHLY recommended!

  • Rob

    I have had a JHP45 and 995TS for over a year now. The 995TS groups 3" at 50 yds, very impressive for a 9mm carbine. WIth factory mags, 995TS is flawless. I had bought some aftermarket 15 rd mags and did have some issues. You have to make sure all rounds are pushed back when loading and file down sharp edges of lips with aftermarket mags. The 995TS carbine is extremely reliable. I am decent with the JHP45 but not as good as my Ruger 9mm pistol. But the 45 is still a very accurate gun and I have had very few feed problems. If you reload, I would recommend Zero Bullets for these or any guns. Very accurate bullets…

  • Rich V.

    I have seen and heard that the trigger pull is anywhere from 5lbs to 9 lbs….what is accurate..?

  • Jon A.

    I just got a Hi-Point 380 ACP at the gun show, fired right out of the box perfectly, might be the best hand gun I have ever bought!! Will definetly buy more

  • George B

    Bought my Hi Point 40 S&W 2 weeks ago. Went straight to firing range. This gun is great, accurate, little heavy, but thats ok. Went through 50 rounds of Independence 40 S&W 180 grain. No problems at all. Then went through 20 rounds of Magtech 40 S&w 180 grain, not a single problem. Great price, shoots very straight. Put it up against my 9mm S&W model 639 and the Hi Point was more accurate. I'll be getting another one for my wife this week. Very satisfied.

  • Eric

    I have the HP 9 mm and the .45. The 9 mm has been fantasic – very few misfeeds/jams and excellent accuracy. The .45 is not as good – misfeed or jam about 1 in 20 rounds, doesn't seem to matter what type of ammo, and not nearly as accurate as the 9 mm, not to mention weighing about as much as my dachshund. However, for the price they can't be beat. Plus I never have to worry about the chambered round in the .45 misfeeding and for home defense that's the most important one.

  • Rick

    Shot my HP 45 yesterday during a short range time. Beautiful weapon! Very accurate from 15 & 30 feet, and no jams with 2 different loads. I'm getting the HP 9 mm this weekend to carry. The 45 will be for home protection. Very impressed!

  • Wendell

    Have a C9, only issue was spring in 8 round mag disintergrated, just ordered another. Love the sights.Simple enough for wife to use.

  • J. Hill

    I recently purchased and Hi-Point .45. At first I was going to get the 9mm, but when i got to the store all the 9mm had been bought up. I then went with my second choice and got the .45. Wow I am glad I didn't wait for a new order of the 9mms to come in. Took the .45 out to the range with my sister we shot 100 rounds off and both love the gun. we were both impressed by how little recoil (kick) the .45 had. Her Ruger .380 has more kick.
    the accuracy of the .45 is on the spot. at 15 yrs I hit the spot on my first nine rounds when first time firing the gun. I plan to still buy the 9.. and will most likely get the .380 and the .40.

    I hope in the future Hi-Point will start making revolvers. As pleased as I have been with my .45 I know they will make an amazing revolver.

  • Robert

    I have the 9mm, the 45, and the 9mm carbine. All shoot great. The 45 actually has less kick than the 9mm. I got the 9mm for my wife but she enjoys shooting the 45 more! the 9mm carbine is awesome as well. A blast to shoot!

  • Robert

    What I also like is that themagazines are interchangeable from the C-9 pistol to the carbine…great feature!

  • Bill from N.M.

    Just picked Hi-Point .40 I took it out to range yesterday it was a blast. 1. I don't understand why some people say it's ugly? 2. I put 100 rds. through it and had just 1 misfeed on the first clip after that no problems. Shot it at 15 yds. and it was right on. Love It and i didn't have to spend $700+ to have a blast.

  • jason

    Got a hp 40 i love the look big mean and nasty fires great love hp

  • http://twitter.com/GalvezGuy GalvezGuy

    Just got one and sent 100 rounds through it. Not a single jam. Shoots extremely tight groups. I love this gun. I bought as a 2nd gun and after the performance yesterday it is my go-to gun.

  • http://www.facebook.com/fduppy Joel Springman

    We have one in 9mm, and we love it. I really want to get one in .45.

  • http://twitter.com/andyknaster Andy Knaster

    With impending Zombie Apocalypse, I wanted a sidearm. I was in the Cav when I was in the Army and our sidearm was the Colt M1911A1 so I really developed a liking for the .45 ACP. I didn’t want to spend a ton of money and my research kept coming up with the JHP 45 as the winner. I bought it and while waiting for the paperwork to clear, I did all sorts of reading up on it. Some people complained about jamming. Some theorized the jamming problems with it were due to cheap magazines some people use. In addition to the mag that came with it, I bought two more original Hi-Point mags. On range day one, I shot 125 rounds without a single jam or misfeed. It’s a fine American-made piece of machinery. Is it ugly? Sure, but so is the zombie breaking into my house. Ugly gun, dead zombie. Works for me.

  • http://www.facebook.com/adam.long.5680 Adam Long

    i got a hipoint 9mm carbine and its a tack driver same hole each shot over and over! hi point rules!~ anyone who tell you they are not good dont know shit about guns ! i buy “cheap guns all the time and shot the same or better than guys with guns that cost more! example got a remmington 770 7mm mag i shoot 1″ groups at 300 yrds so dont tell me cheap aint good its the shooter not the gun 90% of the time if you got a semi auto pistol that dont like certain ammo put in a lighter spring for the slide to make it work cheap way to fix an issue gun springs.com

  • http://twitter.com/DefiantDeity Defiant Deity

    This review is pretty hilarious and the comments are even funnier. No one wants to admit they purchased a POS so that explains the strong defense of Hi Points. I would never stake my life on any of their pistols. When people are excited and brag that they have put 150 rounds through it without a problem that says something about the POS you are using. These things are notorious for being junk and for failures, everything from stovepipes, failure to feed, and sometimes almost taking someone’s hand off. In this case you truly do get what you pay for. I have seen all of these for myself at the range, so don’t feed me your BS. Your gun sucks; everyone else in the firearm world knows it but you.

    BTW I shoot 3-gun and I am a regular at the range, you might even say it’s my second home. I wouldn’t brag about shooting 150 rounds without a jam, I put thousands of rounds down range without any problems. Being at the range I get to see a lot of people come and go. 9 times out of 10 when a person at the range is bit*ing and moaning because their firearm isn’t working it’s because they are using a Hi Point. People are friendly and help them out because they are almost always newbies or uninformed (who else would buy one?). They don’t know that a magazine failure or having to “mess” with your firearm to get it to shoot or “break in” isn’t normal. Some don’t care because it’s a gun to get their feet wet and they will eventually move on to something better that their life can depend on, possibly a Springfield, which really isn’t that much more money. Springfield is what I use for 3 gun and it has never failed me, only cost me 500, and its accurate. I would love to see someone attempt to shoot a weekend of 3-gun with a Hi Point HAHA!

    • Stuff Nick Says

      I just bought my first pistol. Picked up a Hi Point .40. I did a lot of research on these guns before making my purchase, and I can honestly say that even with the problems I encountered with the gun on my first trip to the range, I probably won’t buy another pistol for the home. (It’s a little hefty for concealed carry though.)

      First time out, had a FTF on the very first round, but a bump to the back of the slide fixed it. Put ten rounds downrange and reloaded with my second mag. Second mag, three nosedive FTF’s in the first seven rounds. Pulled the mag, removed the remaining rounds, and threw it in the trash. Spent the rest of the day using the mag that came with the gun (second mag was aftermarket and cost me more than ordering one from Hi Point would have… pissed me off). Had ZERO FTF’s the remainder of the day, but did have a jam towards the end of the day.

      That was with 100 rounds… of RELOAD ammo.

      Then I bought 100 rounds of boxed ammo… smooth as silk. Not a single issue.

      I think with Hi Points, the issue is not so much the gun as it is the owner. Keep it cleaned, use boxed ammo, and make damn sure you have factory mags, and this gun works as well as any other. The problem is that because these guns ARE as inexpensive as they are, novice users tend to be the ones buying them… and novice users who don’t know how to use a handgun WILL have problems with ANY firearm until they’ve been trained on how to properly use it. You just see it more in Hi Points because they’re an affordable entry point into the handgun world.

      In the past three months since I’ve started shooting handguns, I’ve fired a Taurus Millennium PRO .45, a .25 of some kind which I can’t recall, a Sig Sauer P232 .380, a Ruger Colt .45 revolver, and my Hi Point. Out of all of those, my Hi Point was the most fun to shoot. Are there issues with it? Sure, but none more than any of the other guns I’ve fired. My Hi Point was the only one of the semi-autos I could actually double-tap with any decent accuracy. Granted, I’m still new at this… but the Hi Point makes me look like I can shoot. I can’t complain for $165.

    • john

      Yeah HP is not a 3 gun, but these people are not shooting 3 gun, you are stuck on yourself. I bet you get pissed off when they shoot better than you.

    • HI Point Joe

      probably be pissing in your pants if this (so called POS) was pointed at you, then in your little school girl voice be saying aw its a piece of junk, bet you wouldn’t, you’d be crying like a little school girl.

    • dave

      gun snobb^^^ lol not everyone can afford hi grade firearms. calm down buddy. I have a little of everything, there actually is a guy who did 3 gun with a hi point and its on youtube, you should check it out. I only have one hi point in the 9mm carbine form, its pretty good for the money! top quality materials….no, but it functions exceptionally well for me.

    • Will

      OH! I’m so very impressed with your calm and expert demeanor. Now, if you only knew what you were talking about.

  • joseph sandage

    i purchased a .40 s&w HP, and coming from a guy who has never owned a handgun, I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!! all my buddies say that they’re not that great of a gun, but, every time i hear them talking about guns it has to do with how much they paid for them. that’s ok, because they can bring their gun, and i’ll bring all 8 of mine to the range! and they will all be american made HI-POINT guns!

  • fjh

    I misplaced the mounting screws for the rear sight on a 9mm carbine. I called Hi-Point and they sent me the mounting screws very quickly and at no charge. Absolutely the best warranty in the gun business .

  • CGeo40

    I’ve purchased a c9 about a year ago. I am very pleased by its performance so far. I’ve put about 1000 rounds through it mostly cheap ammo why waste the good stuff at the range. Even with cheap ammo I have only had a few that failed to feed and only 2 that failed to fire I blame the ammo not the gun. It does have some faults but for the 149 I paid I can live with them. The biggest problem I see is the firing pin doubles as the ejector its never happened to me but I’ve heard people say that they’ve had a round fire when cycling the gun to clear it. I always have it pointed down range when doing it just in case but again never happened to me. Second and my biggest issue is taking it down for cleaning the slide is held to the frame with a rolled pin that sets in the frame to disassemble one must “tap” out the pin but its not a “tap” that’s required its a good whack I hate the idea of using a hammer and punch on my gun. I’ve heard of an after market hex screw available as a replacement to the pin but have never seen one for sale. So in summing up I like my c9 its been reliable its been accurate and its been durable my only problems are the damned pin and the “potential” for accidental discharge its never happened and honestly could happen with any gun given the correct conditions.

  • bogsy

    First time gun owner here. A friend told me to try out the hi point .40 and I fell in love with it. Some people hates it even though they haven’t tried it. As long as it can protect me and my family I don’t go for the looks.

  • Steve Long

    I bought my Ruger P95DC about 15 years ago, and have put around 15,000 rounds through it. Only one failure to feed. I’ve been reading comments on here and I see that most of you are pretty happy with your HP’s. When you reach the 10,000 round mark be sure to come back and report the long term reliability of your HP’s!

    • allen

      the secet is to always clean and oil your firearm,even a $3000.00 firearm will fail if not maintained.

    • foulpet

      I bet if you sent that Ruger in with an issue after 10k rounds and 15 years they would think you were nuts. If HP is still around in 20 years, I could send it in for a complete refit. I have I pretty good collection of firearms and am pretty sure none will offer the customer service I’ve heard about from HP. That is the only reason I decided to buy one.

      • Steve Long

        At this point I don’t see any reason I would need to send it back. Like Allen said, maintenance is the key to longevity. After range time I always show my firearms some serious love.

  • Robert

    I recently went to a local gun store to look at 1911 45′s. The guy asked if I own a 45 now, I said yes, a Hi-point. He said “they’re junk, we don’t even take them in as trade”. I wanted to tell him that if I was pointing one at him I was sure his opinion would change, but that’s not a good thing to say or do, especially at a sun store. But he won’t be getting my business. No, it’s not a great gun (it’
    s a good gun for the price, better than the cheap 1911 imports like the runs from Turkey) and it pretty much doesn’t like anything except FMJ and hardball ammo, but that’s also okay. If you got to use is, dead is dead, no matter what ammo you use :-)

  • jlglex99

    In all product categories, a consumer looking at the low-priced option is always worried about reliability and quality. My own experience is a mixed bag. I was very disappointed with a low priced work boot from China; but I have been delighted with my low end lawn mower and weed wacker. They are still running smooth after many, many uses. Now, I am looking at .45′s. This may be the one!

  • Scott

    “…….I bought a 40 S&W Used from a Gun Shop, called HI Point after a problem, and we disassembled on the phone and the Man which Helped was outstanding. He sent me a whole new spring and fire pin kit with a pEEP sIGHT…….I just like this Big Gun. I have many small concealable weapons, but for accuracy and power, this is my go to Pistol…..Best $160.00 I spent on a 40…..”

  • AC N Bonnie Rogers

    I have 3 hp 45 caliber great guns

  • WK

    Have a jcp model in .40 cal. Have yet to put a clip through without multiple jams. Would love to love this US made pistol, but so far it’s a bust.

    • Not Falling For It

      Operator error?

  • Dave

    I own the hi point 9mm and the 45acp handguns, both have over 200 rounds run thru and have not had one bit of a problem at all. My wife is a new shooter and after a few rounds she was putting all her shots in a 10 inch target from 15ft, not bad for new shooter with the 9mm. Pretty… not really, but who cares these are well built and fits everyones budget and fun to shoot.

  • sanman1894

    Just bought the Hi-Point 45 two weeks ago. The gun looked very different from any that I have ever seen before. I took it to the range and this was my first time ever being at a range or firing a pistol in over 20 years. I started at 30 yards out and then continued to go back 10 yards at a time. All I can say is the guy in the next stall asked if I was in law enforcement. All center mass shots tight together. I was very impressed with myself and the pistol. I shot 100 rounds in 30 minutes. No jams, no heavy recoil just pure good shooting. I am about to buy another 45 for my wife next week. Whoever says that Hi-Points are cheap and unreliable must be out of their mind or just like paying 700 or 800 bucks for a pistol.

  • Mark

    Yes the high point is ugly but so is the A-10 thunderbolt II and that aircraft has eliminated hundreds if not thousands of al Qaeda and Taliban !! (Motto) Have Gun Will Travel .

  • Cowboy T

    I’m a part-time rangemaster, and we have Hi-Points come into the range pretty regularly. Any mechanical device can and will eventually fail, but I have yet to see a Hi-Point malfunction. Street price on these things is $180, and that’s hard to beat for a pistol that works.

    As far as looks, no, it isn’t a beauty queen, but still, “pretty is as pretty shoots”. That girl that looks kinda-sorta-maybe-cute, and who is low-maintenance, is going to win over the long term every time over a high-maintenance, tempermental, diva-type jerk with a hot body. And so it is with this Hi-Point. It ain’t gorgeous, but it looks OK, and it’s utterly reliable. I like ‘em.

  • Jon

    I have a 45 acp carbine. This rifle is just the best! For the heck of it I put a game seeker scope on it, took it to the range and blew out 3 bulls eyes at 30 yards with 60 rounds! Never a mis fire. I liked it so much that I left the range and bought the 45 acp pistol. ( magazines are interchangeable ). My total cost for both guns including tax was $500.00. What a great deal, AND American made. On top of all this, these guns are guaranteed for life!
    I fire the pistol tomorrow. If this pistol performs like I am expecting, I will be buying the 9mm pistol and carbine to add to my collection.

  • Run Ron Jay

    I just sold my hp 40 yesterday and dont have any remorse for getting 100 bucks for it. I hated the guns jamming problems and always had to make sure the rounds were tapped snuggly to the side of the mag beefore firing and not jamming.Good riddance to bad rubish, I would not want to rely on one in an emergency.

  • issac saylor

    I have a high point it is my first handgun I have a 40 s&w only prob I had was fail to load so I took it apart polished the feed ramp and it shoots like a dream you can’t beat american made straight out of the box did nothing with the sights and from about 50 feet away I can hit the center every time I love my gun S&W rules :)

back to top