Skip to main content

Remington's R-15 VTR .204 Ruger

Remington's R-15 VTR .204 Ruger

Like many shooters, I knew it wouldn't be long before Remington introduced an AR-15-style rifle after it was acquired by Cerberus Capital Management, the company that also owns Bushmaster.

We were right, but Remington went in a unique direction right off the bat--for AR makers, anyway--aiming its new R-15 VTR line of AR-style rifles squarely at American varmint and predator hunters.

The R-15 VTR--short for Varmint Tactical Rifle--is available with a fixed stock and a choice of an 18- or 22-inch barrel; it is also available in a collapsible-stocked configuration with an 18-inch tube. All are available in .223 Remington or .204 Ruger.


The 18-inch-barreled, collapsible-stock version, which Remington calls the Predator Carbine CS, is the model I toted on a Utah predator-calling expedition in early December 2007. It was chambered for the .204 Ruger round, and it is the subject of this article.


Like all R-15 VTR rifles and carbines, the CS starts with a forged, aircraft-grade, 7075-T6 aluminum upper and lower that are finished in Advantage Max-1 HD camo. An A2-style pistol grip is standard, as is Remington's new single-stage trigger, which broke at 4 pounds, 6 ounces on my review sample. The trigger had a bit of take-up and minimal overtravel.

REMINGTON R-15 CARBINE CS

MANUFACTURER Reminton Arms Co. Inc.
870 Remington Dr.
Madison, NC 27025
www.remington.com
MODEL R-15 Carbine CS
PURPOSE Varmints
ACTION TYPE Semiautomatic
OPERATION Direct-gas-impingement
MAGAZINE TYPE & CAPACITY Detatchable, five rounds. Accepts all standard AR-15 magazines.
RECIEVER MATERIAL 7075 T6 aluminum
CALIBERS .204 Ruger (tested) and .223 Remington
BARREL LENGTH 18 (tested) and 22 inches
SIGHTS None; flat-top upper has a Picatinny rail
METAL FINISH Realtree Advantage Max-1 HD camo
SAFETY Single-sided
TRIGGER TYPE Single-Stage
PULL WEIGHT 4 pounds, 6 ounces
STOCK TYPE M-4 style, six-poistion collapsible (tested) or fixed, A2 style
STOCK FINISH Realtree Advantage Max-1 HD camo
SLING STUDS/SWIVELS Fized Studs
WEIGHT EMPTY 6.75 pounds (as tested)
OVERALL LENGTH 33.25 inches to 36.25 inches
ACCESSORIES Lockable hard case, owner's manual
MSRP $999

In keeping with its "Carbine CS" designation, the CS has a collapsible, six-position, M-4-style stock. But unlike the mil-spec M-4 version, Remington's has a conventional sling-swivel stud that I much prefer for ease of sling mounting over the mil-spec stock's integral loop.

The CS also has a relatively thin 18-inch, fluted barrel that measures just 0.68 inch at the muzzle. The barrel is free-floated under an aluminum handguard, which also conceals the carbine's low-profile gas block. The handguard has four, 2-


inch-long cooling slots around its circumference both fore and aft. Mine came with a single sling-swivel stud, but it has a pre-drilled hole for mounting an extra stud to facilitate mounting a bipod. The handguard also has screw holes at the 6 and 9 o'clock positions for mounting accessory rails for those hunters who like to clamp lights, lasers, or other such tactical accessories on their carbines.

The upper receiver has a Picatinny-spec, flat-top rail for scope mounting. For my Utah hunt, the test rifle was equipped with a 2.5-10X Nikon Monarch, but after the hunt, it arrived at my office with only a set of scope bases and Warne rings. So in preparation for my testing, I mounted a 3.5-10X 42mm SII Big Sky scope from Sightron. The Sightron scope was bright and clear, tracked perfectly, and held its zero throughout my testing.

Sadly, I was only allowed to keep the prototype R-15 for a few days, and the day I chose for my accuracy testing turned out to be one of the windiest days of the season. As I wrote in the accompanying article on the new Model 700 VTR on page 46, a 25 mph breeze gusting to 45 mph made for a hellish day on the range. But the show had to go on, so I took my time and managed to eek out a few sub-inch five-shot groups. The conditions made shooting good groups tough, but the Carbine CS's 1.03-inch, five-group average with Remington 40-grain AccuTip ammo was pretty darn impressive considering the maddening winds.


In Utah, I packed the R-15 up and down the mountains in blinding snow and driving wind for the better part of three days. On the snowiest day, I took a break to test its reliability by running several magazines into a hill as fast as I could pull the trigger. It ran without a hiccup, despite being wet and filthy.

Over the course of that hunt, I also got a feel for the Carbine CS's suitability as a predator rifle. I liked the collapsible stock because it allowed me to shorten the stock to compensate for my bulky winter clothing. I also thought the 18-inch barrel and 6.75-pound weight made it a joy to carry and gave the carbine a lively feel. When it came time to shoot at a fox that was trotting across a field a little farther than 300 yards away, the gun tracked perfectly. That and its crisp, clean trigger allowed me to make a nice second-round hit on what was the first of the only two varmints we called in on the trip.

SHOOTING REMINGTON'S R-15 CARBINE CS

FACTORY LOAD VELOCITY (fps) 100-Yard ACCURACY (in.)
.204 Ruger
Hornady 32-gr. V-Max 4225 1.56
Federal 39-gr. Sierra BlitzKing 3750 1.27
Remington 40-gr. AccuTip 3900 1.03
Notes: Accuracy is the average of five, five-shot groups fired from a Caldwell rifle rest and rear bag at 100 yards. Velociy is the manufactuer's claimed muzzle velocity, as winds prevented chronograph use during testing.

I really liked Remington's new Predator Carbine CS. Fit and finish were excellent, and I was most impressed with its accuracy and trigger. Although the accuracy table is not that impressive, it is a direct result of the high winds on test day. In fact, I blew several sub-half-inch groups due to some strong, ill-timed gusts. Given a little more time and better weather, I have no doubt the little carbine would have shot some screaming groups.

As a predator hunter who happens to prefer the AR platform for walking and calling, I am especially thrilled to see Remington come out with a trim, easy-to-carry package. And I am pleasantly surprised to see the company chamber it in .204 Ruger, which is fast-becoming my favorite predator round.

I think Remington's new R-15 line will be a big hit. And, with the Remington name stamped on the receiver, I think a whole new group of shooters will learn the joy of the Big Green, err, black rifle.

GET THE NEWSLETTER Join the List and Never Miss a Thing.

Recommended Articles

See More Recommendations

Popular Videos

The Glock 21

The Glock 21

Frank and Tony from Gallery of Guns spice up the Glock test using their non-dominant hands.

All About .300 Blackout

All About .300 Blackout

The .300 Blackout is here to stay, and we take some time to look at new technology surrounding this cartridge. Next, we pit subsonic rivals against each other before stretching the legs of this CQB round out to 600 yards from a short 9-inch barrel.

Black Hills Evolution of Rifle Cartridge: .308 Win. 175 Gr. Match

Black Hills Evolution of Rifle Cartridge: .308 Win. 175 Gr. Match

David Fortier talks with Jeff Hoffman of Black Hills Ammunition about the evolution of the .308 Win. 175 Gr. Match bullet.

Pinging Steel At Over A Mile Away

Pinging Steel At Over A Mile Away

Big bore semiauto or a lever gun? We look at the futuristic .450 Bushmaster and how it compares to the tried and true .45-70. ISS Prop House gives us the rundown on the guns used in Enemy at the Gate. We ping steel with a .300 WinMag at over a mile.

See More Popular Videos

Trending Articles

Firing 21 different loads in Kimber's Mountain Ascent rifle proved it is a good friend to have in high places.Kimber Mountain Ascent Rifle Review Rifles

Kimber Mountain Ascent Rifle Review

Steve Gash - January 22, 2021

Firing 21 different loads in Kimber's Mountain Ascent rifle proved it is a good friend to have...

Would you take the extra power and pop of the .22 Magnum over the more price-effective .22 LR? Here's one man's opinion.Best Rimfire Cartridges — .22 Magnum vs .22 Long Rifle Ammo

Best Rimfire Cartridges — .22 Magnum vs .22 Long Rifle

Payton Miller - December 21, 2020

Would you take the extra power and pop of the .22 Magnum over the more price-effective .22 LR?...

The .30-06 Hawkeye Hunter features a 22-inch stainless-steel barrel and a satin-finished walnut stock. Magazine capacity is four rounds. It is well made, accurate, and attractive. This is a fine rifle that is light enough to tote over hill and dale but heavy enough to hold steady for precise shooting in the field.Ruger Hawkeye Hunter .30-06 Review Rifles

Ruger Hawkeye Hunter .30-06 Review

Steve Gash - August 17, 2020

The .30-06 Hawkeye Hunter features a 22-inch stainless-steel barrel and a satin-finished...

Part 1 of this series discussed precision-built rifles, and Part 2 looked at the preparation of cartridge cases. Now it's time to fill those cases with primers, powder, and bullets.Precision Reloading Guide Part 3: Priming, Powder Charging & Bullet Seating Reloading

Precision Reloading Guide Part 3: Priming, Powder Charging & Bullet Seating

Layne Simpson - December 10, 2020

Part 1 of this series discussed precision-built rifles, and Part 2 looked at the preparation...

See More Trending Articles

More Rifles

The Husqvarna AB. Mauser Series 1100 Deluxe features a European walnut stock, a non-military action, and a two-position  wing-type safety.Husqvarna AB. Mauser Series 1100 Deluxe Rifle Review Rifles

Husqvarna AB. Mauser Series 1100 Deluxe Rifle Review

Joseph von Benedikt - August 19, 2020

The Husqvarna AB. Mauser Series 1100 Deluxe features a European walnut stock, a non-military...

Red-dot sights may be just what the doctor ordered for lever-action fans of “a certain age.”Best Red-Dot Sights for Lever-Action Rifles Rifles

Best Red-Dot Sights for Lever-Action Rifles

Payton Miller - December 28, 2020

Red-dot sights may be just what the doctor ordered for lever-action fans of “a certain age.”

The Sako S20 hybrid rifle evolves with the owner, and it combines best-in-class versatility with superb accuracy.Sako S20 Hybrid Rifle Review Rifles

Sako S20 Hybrid Rifle Review

Joseph von Benedikt - September 04, 2020

The Sako S20 hybrid rifle evolves with the owner, and it combines best-in-class versatility...

Type 99 Arisaka battle rifles utilize a unique, disc-shaped safety, and their stocks were finished with the resin of the urushi tree. Joseph's rifle is chambered for the 7.7x58mm Japanese round.Japanese Type 99 Arisaka Rifle Review Rifles

Japanese Type 99 Arisaka Rifle Review

Joseph von Benedikt - October 09, 2020

Type 99 Arisaka battle rifles utilize a unique, disc-shaped safety, and their stocks were...

See More Rifles

Magazine Cover

GET THE MAGAZINE Subscribe & Save

Digital Now Included!

SUBSCRIBE NOW

Give a Gift   |   Subscriber Services

PREVIEW THIS MONTH'S ISSUE Arrow

Buy Digital Single Issues

Don't miss an issue.
Buy single digital issue for your phone or tablet.

Buy Single Digital Issue on the Shooting Times App

Other Magazines

Special Interest Magazines

See All Special Interest Magazines

GET THE NEWSLETTER Join the List and Never Miss a Thing.

Phone Icon

Get Digital Access.

All Shooting Times subscribers now have digital access to their magazine content. This means you have the option to read your magazine on most popular phones and tablets.

To get started, click the link below to visit mymagnow.com and learn how to access your digital magazine.

Get Digital Access

Not a Subscriber?
Subscribe Now