Remington's R-15 VTR .204 Ruger

Remington's R-15 VTR .204 Ruger

Like many shooters, I knew it wouldn't be long before Remington introduced an AR-15-style rifle after it was acquired by Cerberus Capital Management, the company that also owns Bushmaster.

We were right, but Remington went in a unique direction right off the bat--for AR makers, anyway--aiming its new R-15 VTR line of AR-style rifles squarely at American varmint and predator hunters.

The R-15 VTR--short for Varmint Tactical Rifle--is available with a fixed stock and a choice of an 18- or 22-inch barrel; it is also available in a collapsible-stocked configuration with an 18-inch tube. All are available in .223 Remington or .204 Ruger.


The 18-inch-barreled, collapsible-stock version, which Remington calls the Predator Carbine CS, is the model I toted on a Utah predator-calling expedition in early December 2007. It was chambered for the .204 Ruger round, and it is the subject of this article.


Like all R-15 VTR rifles and carbines, the CS starts with a forged, aircraft-grade, 7075-T6 aluminum upper and lower that are finished in Advantage Max-1 HD camo. An A2-style pistol grip is standard, as is Remington's new single-stage trigger, which broke at 4 pounds, 6 ounces on my review sample. The trigger had a bit of take-up and minimal overtravel.

REMINGTON R-15 CARBINE CS

MANUFACTURER Reminton Arms Co. Inc.
870 Remington Dr.
Madison, NC 27025
www.remington.com
MODEL R-15 Carbine CS
PURPOSE Varmints
ACTION TYPE Semiautomatic
OPERATION Direct-gas-impingement
MAGAZINE TYPE & CAPACITY Detatchable, five rounds. Accepts all standard AR-15 magazines.
RECIEVER MATERIAL 7075 T6 aluminum
CALIBERS .204 Ruger (tested) and .223 Remington
BARREL LENGTH 18 (tested) and 22 inches
SIGHTS None; flat-top upper has a Picatinny rail
METAL FINISH Realtree Advantage Max-1 HD camo
SAFETY Single-sided
TRIGGER TYPE Single-Stage
PULL WEIGHT 4 pounds, 6 ounces
STOCK TYPE M-4 style, six-poistion collapsible (tested) or fixed, A2 style
STOCK FINISH Realtree Advantage Max-1 HD camo
SLING STUDS/SWIVELS Fized Studs
WEIGHT EMPTY 6.75 pounds (as tested)
OVERALL LENGTH 33.25 inches to 36.25 inches
ACCESSORIES Lockable hard case, owner's manual
MSRP $999

In keeping with its "Carbine CS" designation, the CS has a collapsible, six-position, M-4-style stock. But unlike the mil-spec M-4 version, Remington's has a conventional sling-swivel stud that I much prefer for ease of sling mounting over the mil-spec stock's integral loop.

The CS also has a relatively thin 18-inch, fluted barrel that measures just 0.68 inch at the muzzle. The barrel is free-floated under an aluminum handguard, which also conceals the carbine's low-profile gas block. The handguard has four, 2-


inch-long cooling slots around its circumference both fore and aft. Mine came with a single sling-swivel stud, but it has a pre-drilled hole for mounting an extra stud to facilitate mounting a bipod. The handguard also has screw holes at the 6 and 9 o'clock positions for mounting accessory rails for those hunters who like to clamp lights, lasers, or other such tactical accessories on their carbines.

The upper receiver has a Picatinny-spec, flat-top rail for scope mounting. For my Utah hunt, the test rifle was equipped with a 2.5-10X Nikon Monarch, but after the hunt, it arrived at my office with only a set of scope bases and Warne rings. So in preparation for my testing, I mounted a 3.5-10X 42mm SII Big Sky scope from Sightron. The Sightron scope was bright and clear, tracked perfectly, and held its zero throughout my testing.

Sadly, I was only allowed to keep the prototype R-15 for a few days, and the day I chose for my accuracy testing turned out to be one of the windiest days of the season. As I wrote in the accompanying article on the new Model 700 VTR on page 46, a 25 mph breeze gusting to 45 mph made for a hellish day on the range. But the show had to go on, so I took my time and managed to eek out a few sub-inch five-shot groups. The conditions made shooting good groups tough, but the Carbine CS's 1.03-inch, five-group average with Remington 40-grain AccuTip ammo was pretty darn impressive considering the maddening winds.


In Utah, I packed the R-15 up and down the mountains in blinding snow and driving wind for the better part of three days. On the snowiest day, I took a break to test its reliability by running several magazines into a hill as fast as I could pull the trigger. It ran without a hiccup, despite being wet and filthy.

Over the course of that hunt, I also got a feel for the Carbine CS's suitability as a predator rifle. I liked the collapsible stock because it allowed me to shorten the stock to compensate for my bulky winter clothing. I also thought the 18-inch barrel and 6.75-pound weight made it a joy to carry and gave the carbine a lively feel. When it came time to shoot at a fox that was trotting across a field a little farther than 300 yards away, the gun tracked perfectly. That and its crisp, clean trigger allowed me to make a nice second-round hit on what was the first of the only two varmints we called in on the trip.

SHOOTING REMINGTON'S R-15 CARBINE CS

FACTORY LOAD VELOCITY (fps) 100-Yard ACCURACY (in.)
.204 Ruger
Hornady 32-gr. V-Max 4225 1.56
Federal 39-gr. Sierra BlitzKing 3750 1.27
Remington 40-gr. AccuTip 3900 1.03
Notes: Accuracy is the average of five, five-shot groups fired from a Caldwell rifle rest and rear bag at 100 yards. Velociy is the manufactuer's claimed muzzle velocity, as winds prevented chronograph use during testing.

I really liked Remington's new Predator Carbine CS. Fit and finish were excellent, and I was most impressed with its accuracy and trigger. Although the accuracy table is not that impressive, it is a direct result of the high winds on test day. In fact, I blew several sub-half-inch groups due to some strong, ill-timed gusts. Given a little more time and better weather, I have no doubt the little carbine would have shot some screaming groups.

As a predator hunter who happens to prefer the AR platform for walking and calling, I am especially thrilled to see Remington come out with a trim, easy-to-carry package. And I am pleasantly surprised to see the company chamber it in .204 Ruger, which is fast-becoming my favorite predator round.

I think Remington's new R-15 line will be a big hit. And, with the Remington name stamped on the receiver, I think a whole new group of shooters will learn the joy of the Big Green, err, black rifle.

GET THE NEWSLETTER Join the List and Never Miss a Thing.

Recommended Articles

See More Recommendations

Popular Videos

Pinging Steel At Over A Mile Away

Pinging Steel At Over A Mile Away

Big bore semiauto or a lever gun? We look at the futuristic .450 Bushmaster and how it compares to the tried and true .45-70. ISS Prop House gives us the rundown on the guns used in Enemy at the Gate. We ping steel with a .300 WinMag at over a mile.

Springfield Armory Saint Victor

Springfield Armory Saint Victor

The SAINT' Victor Rifle delivers a lightweight and agile rifle solution while maintaining effectiveness at extended engagement distances.

Hornady 6MM Creedmoor

Hornady 6MM Creedmoor

Tom Beckstrand and Neal Emery of Hornady highlight the 6MM Creedmoor ammo.

All About .300 Blackout

All About .300 Blackout

The .300 Blackout is here to stay, and we take some time to look at new technology surrounding this cartridge. Next, we pit subsonic rivals against each other before stretching the legs of this CQB round out to 600 yards from a short 9-inch barrel.

Trending Articles

Crimson Trace enters the riflescope business with the Crimson Trace CTL-3420 4-20X 50mm. Optics

Review: Crimson Trace CTL-3420 4-20X 50mm

Joel J. Hutchcroft - April 29, 2019

Crimson Trace enters the riflescope business with the Crimson Trace CTL-3420 4-20X 50mm.

The Smith & Wesson Model 19 is back in production after being on ice for almost two decades. Handguns

Review: Smith & Wesson Model 19 Classic Revolver

Joel J. Hutchcroft - March 08, 2019

The Smith & Wesson Model 19 is back in production after being on ice for almost two decades.

Cutting-edge projectiles provide unprecedented performance in the venerable old workhorse, the .30-06. Ammo

Get the Most Out of the .30-06

Joseph von Benedikt - April 01, 2019

Cutting-edge projectiles provide unprecedented performance in the venerable old workhorse, the...

Shooting Times editor Joel Hutchcroft provides a comprehensive list of ideal Father's Day gifts. Accessories

Shooting Times Father's Day 2019 Gift Guide

Joel J. Hutchcroft - May 07, 2019

Shooting Times editor Joel Hutchcroft provides a comprehensive list of ideal Father's Day...

See More Trending Articles

More Rifles

Christensen has announced the Ranger 22, a rimfire rifle with a carbon fiber tension barrel built for competition shooters and small game hunters alike. Rifles

Christensen Arms Ranger 22 Rimfire Rifle – First Look

Shooting Times Digital Staff - January 24, 2020

Christensen has announced the Ranger 22, a rimfire rifle with a carbon fiber tension barrel...

The Browning X-Bolt Max Long Range is incredibly accurate, has all the bells and whistles long-range shooters demand and comes with a retail price that anyone can afford. Rifles

Browning X-Bolt Max Long Range Review

Joseph von Benedikt - February 12, 2020

The Browning X-Bolt Max Long Range is incredibly accurate, has all the bells and whistles...

Superbly engineered and redolent of a time near forgotten, the Winchester Model 1895 is one of America's great rifles. Rifles

Winchester Model 1895 Saddle Ring Carbine Review

Joseph von Benedikt - November 25, 2019

Superbly engineered and redolent of a time near forgotten, the Winchester Model 1895 is one of...

Chambered in a sleek but nearly obsolete rimmed .22 centerfire, the Savage Model 99 was once considered a premium varmint and predator rifle. Rifles

Savage Model 99 .22 Hi Power Rifle Review

Joseph von Benedikt - October 04, 2019

Chambered in a sleek but nearly obsolete rimmed .22 centerfire, the Savage Model 99 was once...

See More Rifles

GET THE MAGAZINE Subscribe & Save

Digital Now Included!

SUBSCRIBE NOW

Give a Gift   |   Subscriber Services

PREVIEW THIS MONTH'S ISSUE

GET THE NEWSLETTER Join the List and Never Miss a Thing.